What say you?

If you knew your child’s every breath was up to you to protect, would you change the way you parent? If you knew every word out of your mouth is stored in your child’s head, fusing with their ever-expanding vocabulary and self consciousness, would you change your parenting style? If you recognized your propensity for favoring one child over the other(s), would you change your parenting stye or keep making excuses? As I sit here by my son’s memorial cross, marking the spot where he was hit and killed and where I often go to sit and talk to him, I think about these things. The questions I ask are not multiple choice, they are rhetorical.

WP_20150212_006

I have all kinds of extra time to come up with pearls of wisdom these days lol. I have learned through my kids going into and through foster care and through death. Our children have never been in more danger than they are today. I wish I could do more to help others but my hands are full right now. I know that God will open the doors as I need to go through them. Nothing that happens in our lives is for no reason. We go through stuff so that we can help others who’ve gone through similar stuff. We’re all students of our own lives; some are cognizant of that, some are not. Both are needed in this world. Proverbs 22:6 says Train up a child in the way they should go and when they’re OLD they will not depart from it…The laws of the land are only as good as the people who live according to them and even then, we have the responsibility to decide whether those laws protect or hurt our kids in the long run (abortion is federally legal, cannabis is federally illegal but abortion kills children while cannabis can heal not only our kids but the earth they will inherit once we’re gone and they’re left to take care of what’s left of it). 

25745_340097196255_1291354_n Ish and the Stars

What say you?