And the Hits Just Keep on Coming!

April 9, 2014

Once again, tragedy has befallen this nation. This morning, in Pennsylvania, a sixteen year old boy ran down the halls of his school stabbing and slashing people at random with kitchen knives before being subdued by the principal and a police officer.

I wonder how many people heard this news and listened with half an ear; the idea being that they’ve heard so many of these stories so frequently that at this point, it’s like listening to white noise. As easy as it is to say that one should avoid doing that, in the same way that television can desensitize one to the horrors of violence in real life, so can tragedy after tragedy after tragedy. I live in Colorado, in Colorado Springs.

The most logical question is what are we going to do about this? Are we going to figure out what the problem is and take corrective measures to stop them? Is there anything that we can do or has it gone too far? I have my own views; I’m curious about other’s views.

Carpool

children around a table

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m tired of this. I’m tired of our children being unsafe going to school. But keep them home and risk losing your children if you’re not able to home school them. Maybe it’s time to “School Pool” and see if that works. Why not? Instead of a parents going around picking up kids to take and drop off at school, they can have the kids come to their home and teach them from  home. We’re in the digital age, people!! Use the technology. Skype is available. Google has it’s own rendition of Skype. I’m sure that other places do as well. That way, the kids are safe(r), accountability is there because all the parents know exactly where their children are and the children get an education. Yes, there would have to be background checks and whatnot but if one has done nothing wrong, they have nothing to worry about, right? Just a thought that popped into my head.

23t3100-fini-elizabeth-on-screen

Our children are our future; that’s what we tell them; it’s what we tell each other but is it true? Do we stand a chance if we get a hold of our kids now and take proactive steps? Are we willing and ready to take drastic steps to make sure our children are safe and secure? I say we try it; what are we going to do? Save lives??!!

Let’s turn THIS:

School shootings

Back into THIS:

Happy children

My Signature

 

And the Hits Just Keep on Coming!

2 thoughts on “And the Hits Just Keep on Coming!

  1. What a terrible tragedy 🙂 I myself have been so ridiculously busy for the last few days with meetings, agendas action items and policies I have totally neglected to check out the news (which is not unusual, as it usually makes me feel terrible…)

    You’ve raised some pretty valid points and some suggestions to consider. Sad post, but certainly a conversation we, as parents need to have.

    I am happy to report that the incidence of such violent acts are not at all common here in Australia, although in certain demographic areas I do know there are some problems faced by teachers and students in relation to violence and abusive behaviours.

    Thanks for sharing

    Miss Lou
    x

    1. mrshameed says:

      First of all, thank you so much for responding; that alone amazes me. Second, this is a dangerous world. Here in America and so many other places. I’m ignorant as to a lot of the other violence going on in other places myself unless I see it on the news. I watch the news a lot as my husband is a “news junkie”.

      What do you do? For a living, I mean. Sounds like you’re busy- wish I were. I’m going to job interviews and stuff but I haven’t had a full time job in a long time. The economy sucks and I’m older (not OLD, just not YOUNG (41)), not pretty and in America, those seem to be the most important things, though they’ll say it isn’t about that. Never was good at bullshitting, I feel the truth should be said.

      I have a friends down there in Australia and she loves it there. I might consider visiting one day but not sure what the cannabis laws are. They’d have to be legal as I use it for both medicinal and recreational purposes.

      It’s been nice to talk to you, Miss Lou. ❤

Leave a Reply

